Thai Noodles

tom yum goong

I've been reading a lot about carbohydrates and glycemic index on this forum and on other health sites. I'm trying to lose some weight and live a healthier lifestyle, and as part of that I thought I would try to reduce the glycemic index of my meals.

Thai white jasmine rice apparently has a very high GI, so when I make my own meals I have switched to brown rice. I've also read that pasta and rice vermicelli (kanom jeen) have low GI and have started making some pasta dishes with brown durum wheat pasta (I'm not a big fan of kanom jeen unless eaten with somtam :D )

However, I'm a rubbish cook and also too lazy to cook all the time, so i was wondering if eating out, which of the noodles we have here in Thailand have the lowest GI? I can't find any information about the GI of Thai noodles (apart from rice vermicelli) on the web.

Any ideas? :o

The easiest thing to do is to simply ensure that you do not eat any carbs by themselves - but ensure that you have a similar sized (grams) of protein at the same time. The combination dramatically lowers the total glycemic index number for the meal.

Without having checked, I would certainly agree that Thai noodles by themselves must have a high glycemic index. Most being processed white rice/flour based.

Cheers!

Hi Firefan

I understand where your coming from (it was what i thought as well). However, I have been reading that noodles such as udon and rice vermicelli have a medium or even low glycemic index.

this site has rice vermicelli at 58 and Thai jasmine rice at 109 compared to glucose = 100 !!!

http://www.mendosa.com/gilists.htm

Apparently it has a lot to do with how it is processed and also prepared - e.g. al dente vs soft pasta

http://www.glycemicindex.com/faq.htm

The article above was the one that got me thinking. If udon noodles or rice vermicelli are medium to low GI, what other noodles available in Thailand also have low or medium GI.