Government school not paying last month of contract.

asking for a friend.  I saw his contract.   from (whenever, forget) until the end of April.   WP expires same date.

School said that he didn't teach in April, no salary.  They said that in March, I believe.  They offered him another contract, and he signed it.  

He told me his school asked him about payment for April and that maybe he'll get a few thousand.  That seems very strange to me, and I'm not sure the entire conversation.   

I told him if he presses this he could get paid, and then lose his current job.   I was a teacher many years ago, and I always thought gov't schools paid all the time.   Is this normal?

Can he wait until the end of this contract and then ask about money from last contract with the labor department?

or simply realize a contract is not really a contract and just forget about it.  

I like teacher drama, so I told him I'll post it here.    

Did I have problems with a contract in the past?  Yes, maybe 7 years ago.   The school really had most of the power.   But it wasn't a gov't school.

anyhow.......

Was it a 12 month or a 10-month contract ?  School is closed sometime in March until May, For example I am on a 10-month contract, So no or partial pay in March then no salary until school starts in May.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, thaitom said:

Was it a 12 month or a 10-month contract ?  School is closed sometime in March until May, For example I am on a 10-month contract, So no or partial pay in March then no salary until school starts in May.

No offense, but I'm not sure that matters.   

The contract was for X months, and one of the months included in X number was not paid.

I think it was 10 or 11........and the contract said it would end at the END of April.  April was not paid.  No school in April, but is that the teacher's problem?  that's not how contracts work.  

If your contract states those terms you mentioned, and you signed it, great.  both sides understand.