A Week By The Seaside

benbaaa

Hi, I'm a new poster on this board.

I'm a frang teacher in Thailand, and I'm taking the family (wife, step-daughter and sister-in-law) for a week by the seaside, and we're planning to stay in Cha-am and/or Hua Hin. I'd like some suggestions for a nice clean quiet bungalow operation or hotel where I can get a decent little a/c room for under about 600 baht a night.

Can anyone help?

Also: things to do and see in the 10% of my time when I'm not lazing around consuming seafood and beer.

Cheers!

benbaaa

:o

I used to put my customers up at the "Blue Wave Resort " everything is a resort . But is is clean, well priced and has a family atmosphere.

If you had alot of money to spend I would suggest the Sofitel, but it is ALOT of money.

Also: things to do and see in the 10% of my time when I'm not lazing around consuming seafood and beer.

Things to do... why not visit the waterfall at Pala U.. or the royal residence of Rama VI ... or even visit the monkeys at the temple at Khao Takiab.. :D

...You could even ride the horses on the beach.... :o

have fun...

totster :D

Personally don't like Sofitel although is right on the beachfront. Lack of atmosphere ans good service.

If budget is not a problem rather stay in Hilton ( next to Sofitel) with everything surrounding.

Marriot is as good to but must take a shamlor if you want to stay near the action area.

Or finally Hyatt Regency (but a little bit far from downtown).

Hi Benbaa:

3 different reports I found for you:

Hyatt Regency

Pros: Modern, large grounds, privacy, plenty of greenery

Cons: Distance from downtown

Hilton

Pros: Prime location, balconies looking over the ocean, home to the Hua Hin brewery!

Cons: Bit crowded, too much concrete.

Sofitel

Pros: Great location, vast grounds, Colonial style, superb meat pies by the pool!

Cons: A bit formal, lacks atmosphere

Marriott

Pros: Lively Acapulco feel, cheaper than the above three, deep pool