Lease Agreements

Hello to you all,ive been browsing this excellant site for a few months now,im wondering if i can have your thoughts and comments,thanks in advance,Andy.Im negotiating a lease agreement for a restaurant/bar on Samui.Its for six years in total but the landlord will only make a three year plus three year contract,I have to pay 60% keymoney now and the other 40% in two years.The contract clearly states i will remain as leesee for the following three years with no furthur payment required.My lawyer tells me this is to save on tax for the landlord and there will be no problem.Samui being a small island im sure he knows my potential landlord better than i do!.I understand i cant registor this lease with the land office as its less than five years.Has anybody been through this?I will be in Bangkok next week and am considering getting a second opinion with a different lawyer, I appreciate all your replies.

Andy:

I suggest you ask your lawyer to talk you through the implications/ramifications of Section 538 of the Civil and Commercial Code of Thailand.

For your information, Section 538 reads as follows:

A hire of immovable property [restaurant]is not enforceable by action unless there be some written evidence signed by the party liable.  If the hire is for more than three years, or for the life of the letter or hirer, it is only enforceable for three years unless it is made in writing and registered with the competent official.

So, my guess is that your landlord won't be paying any tax :o

Notwithstanding this, important to the deal is Section 544, which reads as follows:

Unless otherwise provided by the contract of hire, a hirer cannot sublet or transfer his rights in whole or part of the property hired to a third person.

If a hirer acts contrary to this provision, the letter may terminate the contract.