What's The Best Laptop For Los?

patsfangr

I'm looking for some advice regarding the best laptop to use in LOS. When we relocate in April, I plan to leave my desktop PC here, and take a laptop with me as my primary PC for my new home. My desktop is a 2001 Compaq Presario 5000. It's only 30 GB, with a 1.6 Ghz processor, and 256MB of RAM. The new laptops, of course, have much more memory, power, and speed.

But I'm not very technically astute regarding PC hardware. I'm not at all sure which laptop will serve best as a primary PC, and which will operate best in Thailand. Service availability should also be considered, and, again, I have no idea about that.

Somebody here in the U.S. told me that Sony VAIO is the best. But a fairly experienced young relative in Thailand said that service is poor there for Sony, and suggested that HP would be the way to go. The guy here in the U.S. put HP far behind Sony and Dell.

So, can I please have some suggestions regarding the brand(s), AND the specific model(s) of laptop that I should buy here? Thanks!!

GR

The more expensive brands here are Sony, Toshiba and Fujitsu. The second-tier brands are HP/Compaq, Acer, IBM, Asus. Then there are the third tier brands like Laser, Belta, etc.

Service experiences can vary, from model to model, day to day, etc. Don't believe anyone when they say that so and so is bad because of so and so reason. Mostly it's just stuff heard from other people. There are no particulary bad brands here.

You should check and see whether the notebook you're buying has an international warranty, and whether that warranty will be honored in Thailand (some local service centers don't honor int'l warranties). Sony is generally good, but it's also expensive.