Where In Chiang Rai Is A Good Place To Build A Home?

Mark1971

Hi,

I am looking for advice from you guys who have experience of living in Chiang Rai.

We are living in the UK, and will be here for a few more years.

The wife is from Chiang Rai & we are planning to retire there once the kids are bigger.

We both agree on this, but whenever we get into the detail, exactly when, where etc, it is obvious we have different ideas.

This is probably my fault as I am an Engineer & enjoy planning things in great detail, obviously as the wife is Thai detailed planning isn't her strongest point.

The Mother in Law lives between Chiang Saen & Chiang Khong.

The MIL has a lovely 4 Rai garden at the back of her place backing onto a stream, which she uses to grow corn / vegetables etc.

We were there about 18 months ago for my Brother in Laws wedding, while there the wife bought 200 Rai near the village.

The plan is for the BIL / SIL to plant & look after rubber trees, manage some Burmese when we start tapping & live in a new house built in the MIL's back garden & look after her in her old age.

Obviously everything will be initially funded by me & the wife, however there should be some money coming our way once things are up and running.

We will be going to Chiang Rai again next May to oversee the tree planting & visit the family.

When we are there I would like to look for a plot of land for our retirement.

The wife would be happy to build a house in the MIL's back garden, but my thinking is that I would be too isolated.

My preference is less than 15 minutes drive from Chiang Rai, safe are, nice scenery, minimum plot size 1 Rai.

Looking on the internet land on Santiburi golf club looks very nice, despite being at the top end of the budget.

I may even consider an estate if there are any with decent plot sizes & good management.

If you were in my position where would you suggest we should look for a retirement plot.

Thanks

Edited by Mark1971