Chiang Mai To Vientiane Tourist Visa Run!

cjnst2

Ok. So I've been doing the monthly runs for the past 4 or 5 months and now it's time to get a tourist visa.

I'm planning on making my first TV run to Vientiane from Chiang Mai. I've never applied or been issued a tourist visa before so I have some questions. I also have some questions regarding the trip to Vientiane that might be able to be answered by some have you that live near Chiang Mai.

Ok ..here goes.

1) I need a Laos visa. It seems from reading that I can get one from a travel agent. It will cost me between $30 - $40. This should allow me to enter Laos. I can't get this at the border or the airport ...correct? meaning I should get it in Chiang Mai before I leave. What is the time frame on this visa? Can I walk in and get it in a matter of minutes or do I have to wait a day or so.

2)Is there somewhere I can downlioad the TV application and fill it out ahead of time or should I just pick one up when I get into Laos at the consulate. Should I bring two small pictures with me or can this be done for a fee at the consulate.

3)From what I read it seems it will take a couple of days for the TV to be processed. If this is true...any suggestions on accomodation is Laos?

4)Finally...flying from Chiang Mai to Vientiane seems to be about $200 round trip. Is the airport close to the consulate or your recommended accomodation? How long is the trip via bus if I would go that route?

Thanks for any help and I may add to this thread if needed if a new question comes up.

1) I need a Laos visa. It seems from reading that I can get one from a travel agent. It will cost me between $30 - $40. This should allow me to enter Laos. I can't get this at the border or the airport ...correct? meaning I should get it in Chiang Mai before I leave. What is the time frame on this visa? Can I walk in and get it in a matter of minutes or do I have to wait a day or so.

You can get a "Visa on Arrival" at any Lao border crossing.