Cash Or Credit Card

MaastMuller

hi.

i just wanted to know, how to pay guesthouses/hotels the best way. cash or by credit card??? ( especial the more simple guesthouses)

and what in thailand is better payed by creditcard?

cheers!! :o

I RARLELY use a credit card in thailand anymore. I have them and hold them for em for emegencies.

Few years ago I got a master card bill with 3k$ of unauthorized charges from jewelry shop in BKK.-- Took me 9 months to get those charges reversed.

If you do use your card--try not to let it out of your sight.

I have used the american express and visa in LOS for over 9 years and never had any trouble from any hotels. But last year I recieved a call from my visa card company asking if I bought @ $900.00 worth of groceries in Japan. It seem someone had used my card numbers in Japan. I had just used my card in the U.S. the day before the charges in Japan. Someone was on the ball at visa and fiqured out that I could not be in 2 places at once and called to see if I made the charges in japan. They canceled the account and the next day I had my new card. No hassles and no charges.

The credit card company thinks that someone in Thailand stole my card number and sent the info to some one in Japan.

Just check with your card company to make sure you are not responsible for theft or fraud.

good luck

PKG

• 2 weeks later...

As said it is much better to use an ATM or Debit card linked to one of the major services such as Cirrus/Plus/Visa etc. There are ATM's just about everywhere in Thailand and most will accept these. Credit card swipe may be required at higher class hotels when you check-in unless you pay in advance or deposit your passport however. But it would be safer to just pay one day at a time, in cash.

Many places in Thailand will try to restrict credit card use and prefer cash. Add to this the extra 2% or so that many credit card companies now change for overseas use and it just does not make sense to use it.