Artisan Cheese Making

ezzra

Hi All,

Near my prime now, retired of my choice, no financial worries or constrains and not much to do here in LOS I been toying with the idea of actually bringing to fruition lifelong quest and try my hand at making and producing an artisan cheeses out of any kind of milk available in Thailand, cow, sheep and goat, admittedly I have no experience in cheese making but I was hoping to take a workshop or a course either in Australia or Israel where cheese making reached an art level to give me the basics of cheese making and try to start a small boutique style cheese making business starting with the basics of cheeses and progress to better and harder to make verities,

The perfect scenario would be nice if I would be able to sell the products but if not I’ll just give them to my friends to enjoy,

Every county I visit I see huge varieties of homemade and artisan cheeses being offered at many venues from hyper markets to farmers markets, only here in Thailand we are forced to buy/eat what the supermarket supply us with which usually is the generic kind and if you want something a bit fancy you have to fork out bit of dosh to enjoy the “imported “cheeses, this operation can happened in Bkk where I’m or find a up country place close to the milk source, I did extensive reading on the subject and cheese making on a homemade level is not all that complicated just follow the rules and hygiene and through trial and error good results can be achieved,

I think is Doable, What do you think guys?

This guy just outside Hua Hin makes cheese, I think he supplies mostly to restaurants www.delcasarothailand.com/ I read an interview with him in one of the touristy magazines where he said temperature and humidity play havoc with cheese and it took them a long time to get it right. Also that good quality milk supply is a major challenge.

Ezz, go up into the mountains to do it where it is cooler and also you will find a supply of milk easier.