Paint Shop Pro Vs Photoshop

I'm a total amateur but i use photoshop. I had no idea what to do with it at first but i now regularly download free podcast tutorials. It's not so difficult after a short while.

Photoshop is more expensive though, i think i paid 200Bht

Experts also use PSP. My first experience with PSP was in the US when I paid a moonlighting graphic artist who worked for a major telecom to design a corporate logo for a business in the US. He delivered it on disc. The files were in PSP. I assume his employer also used the software. I bought PSP 7 then recently upgraded to X2. PSP 7 had an animation shop package included which X2 doesn't so that is still used. I have never used Photoshop but I am curious about user experience with both.

Edited by ChiangMaiAmerican

ChiangMaiAmerica wrote....

Most reviews say Paint Shop Pro will do 98% of what Photo Shop will do. Any opinions?

May I suggest you start reading more reputable reviews about Photoshop. For photo editing Photoshop Elements will do about 90 % of Photoshop for a small fraction of the price. However, I once used PSP and found it to be great and fun to use.

I now use Mac and PSP is not available unless I load Windows on my machine - not going to contaminate my iMac with windows.. I also miss the free program irfanview. But now my heart belong to Adobe's Photoshop. I've been using it for several years and still have so much to learn ...the free podcasts on itunes are incredible and I have downloaded more than a thousand tutorial clips for free.

Every year I try to take a computer course at our community college and by doing so qualify for tremendous student discounts for Adobe products. Last fall I purchased a suite of Adobe programs for about 25% of selling price and saved almost $1,400.