Shareholding

Hi,

My wife (Thai national, not yet registered marriage) is doing freelance software development. She has programming and project management experience and also holds an MBA; these things make me quite confident that she can take her freelancing/consulting thing to the next level. So it's time to make this an official company, especially for tax reasons, for hiring staff, professional image among potential customers, etc.

While it will be pretty much her show for now, I can see myself getting more involved if/when it really takes off as I work in the same field. Also some of the running expenses will initially come from me, though my wife can source money from her family and perhaps other investors as well if needed. Money isn't really the problem, and initial investment for a software company is not like you need acres of land or expensive machinery anyway. :o

We're currently looking into getting BOI approval, mostly for tax reasons and secondary would be ease of getting work permits and help with other government rules. We don't really expect difficulty there as well, other than having to come up with 1 million baht's worth of things to invest money in. :D

With BOI approval a foreigner can hold up to 100% of the company, but clearly as it's as much (if not more) my wife's thing, we're looking at some kind of 50-50 split. However you need like 7 shareholders, so exactly 50-50 is not going to happen.

Question: What would be a good split and for what reasons? Is there any benefit to the company if Thai or Foreign shareholding is over 50%? Does there have to be one majority shareholder who is authorized to sign cheques and confirm other official obligations the company makes?

We're trying to decide if one shareholding over 50% is needed, or that something like 48-48-2 is advisable. (with 2 percent going to the remaining shareholders).