Database Help

kir

Hi to all,

I'm a web novice, so any and all advice is most welcome (posted or emailed).

I have MS Frontage and have been trying to use it to develop a website database (simple hotel names, location, contact details etc.).

I've kept it simple (no graphics at all yet) and have used only the database wizard, which created an index page with two hyperlinks; one to a submission page, the other to a results page, and of course the databse itself (an MS Access DB).

However, things are not going well and it hasn't met my expectations; for example a seacrh page wasn't provided etc.

What i want is a simple index (home page) containing 2 links; one to a submission page via which hotel details etc., are entered directly into the database and the other link to a search page through which a hotel name can be entered to search the database. Finally, a search results page should come up with the hotel's details stored in the database.*note:only that hotel, not the whole database!

So, my questions is, can i achieve the above using MS Frontpage? I have everything down on paper (flow diagram etc.) and my initial goal is to get the mechanics of the site to work before i start to attmept the inclusion of graphics etc. Ideally, i'd like the whole testsite completed on disc. Would i be going off on a tangent by researching the software "MySQL" as i've read a little, but to be honest am quiet lost....!!!!

Any and all help, advice would be most welcome.

Best Regards

Kir

Edited by kir

Thanks,

Could you please clarify if i can indeed achieve my goal using MySQL software, or would that only be one part of what i'm trying to do.

Yes, of course, i'm open to offers for professional help. Just not sure where exactly to be looking in Bangkok.

Like anyone, i'd like any price to be based on the actual work or difficluty of the task rather than get fleeced as a novice.

Suggestions most welcoome.

Regards

Kir

Edited by kir

My suggestion;