Thai Man Seen Beating Young Thai Woman,

ScubaBuddha

I have to get this off my chest or I feel like I am going to explode. Driving my car today along a somewhat secluded side road, I see a youngish Thai man slapping, kicking hard, pushing and screaming at a crying young Thai woman sitting on a motorbike who is doing nothing to defend herself as a steady stream of motorbikes drive past with apparently no one taking notice but me. Back in the states, where I was a cop, I would have this guy on the ground in cuffs quickly, but I know better than to try something foolish like that here, as he is more likely to have a weapon, and every Thai in earshot would join him in fighting me. So I turn the car around park where I can see them and call 191. The man who answers quickly tells me he speaks no English and to call 1155. I could probably get the point across in Thai, but instead I try 1155 several times but it seems disconnected or busy. So I reluctantly call the recent but speaking terms ex-gf who wants back and ask her to call 191 to relay the information. She refuses and gives me the same line of BS she gave me last year when we saw a drunk driver (presumably) run into and knock down a pedestrian, a young girl, with his trucks big side view mirror. She said that the police will not come, that I am not back home, I am in Thailand and I cannot interfere with other peoples business, that the police can accuse us of making a fake police report if they can't find them, that the people involved can cause trouble for us, that the girl may want to stay with the man anyway etc. etc. All non-sense of course. Even if true those are risks I am easily willing to take when it comes to abuse of a woman or child. But what is bothering me so deeply is how vehement she was about this non-interference cultural thing, so much so that it has really shaken me in terms of what kind of society can allow their women to be beaten in the streets without so much as an anonymous phone call being