Safe Diving

irishken

hi all.

is it safe for a complete novice to go diving without any PADI course. i will be going to Phi Phi in feb 2012 and would like to go diving. i have seen 1 day trips with 2 dives. i dont want to give up 3 days of my holiday to do a course plus leaving my wife on her own wouldn't be very fair. my brother has told me stories about when he lived in the cayman islands that he seen people feeling unwell after diving as they had not done it before.

as my brother has not done anyone diving himself could anyone back this up.

also has anyone ever used a dicapac for there camera. i have done a fair bit of research and they look preety good.

http://www.amazon.co...&pf_rd_i=468294

thanks all.

ken

Edited by irishken

You can not dive safely with no training. Don't try it.

The PADI Discover Scuba Diving (DSD) program is a one day program that covers the basics of safety and equipment. This is the 1 day 2 dive trips you have heard of. You will be very closely monitored by a certified PADI professional in calm shallow waters. It is very safe. There is no correlation between the people "not feeling well" after diving because "they hadn't done it before" unless they were diving with no instruction at all and did something like skip breath, hold their breath, go to deep, or ascend to fast.

Link: Padi Discover Scuba Diving

You do not receive a certification for completing a DSD but it can be credited towards certification later.

The dicapac and similar camera bags are good for snorkling. If you are thinking of taking your camera on the dive with you in this bag, don't. They aren't made for that. Your dive shop will probably have rental cameras, although on a DSD you shouldn't take a camera anyway as you will need to be focusing on the diving. That will be up to your instructor/divemaster. Better to have your instructor/divemaster can take pictures for you/of you.

Edited by ScubaBuddha