Mental Notes

DrBooze

I was wondering how much people use mental noting in their meditation. I always read about it but I find it a distraction. I find it easier just to let go of distracting thoughts and go back to the breathing.

I find it hard to note what I am thinking about with out getting distracted. I wonder if I'm using the right words... and if I'm putting enough detail. Should a note "thinking" or "thinking about X" or "thinking about an argument I had with X" and so on. It seems complicated.

Is mental noting something you should take seriously? Do you gain more from letting your thoughts go? Or do you learn something by observing what your thoughts actually are?

I'm a beginner Buddhist but I'll give you some ideas and I hope they are not wrong.

First, there are two main reasons for meditating in Buddhist thought. One is for concentration and one is for insight.