Tobacco Farming

Dancealot

Hi all, it is tobacco and garlic season for me. And i am a newbie at this and i am looking for harvesting information because the planting has all been done 30 days ago and i will be involved with harvesting.

I have a specific interest in tobacco and am curious if anyone here has been involved with tobacco harvesting, transport and hanging the leaves to dry?

Edited by Dancealot

• Replies 214
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

idk but I did find this if it helps DL...

Tobacco is a heavy feeder and if grown continuously in the same spot will deplete the nutrients in the soil. So to counteract this it is wise to employ a 2 year rotation in your growing space by planting 2 years in a specific location and waiting a year or more before you plant your tobacco back into that location again. Tobacco also requires good amounts of nitrogen and potash both of which can be achieved with a good compost but we recommend a good garden fertilizer if you do not have or use compost.

Edited by Mosha

Might be interesting to note that nocotene from tabacco plants can also be used to cure smoking (patches etc) - and is being trialled to help ADHT sufferes, alzheimers and for post-surgical pain treatment. Soya beans can be used to make ricin which is a truely awful poison used in bio-terroism - many things can have both good and bad uses - is it the farmer that is at fault, he sells tabacco leaves, not cigars and cigarettes. Steel workers make carbon steel that could be turned into guerneys and operating table parts or firearms.

Edited by wolf5370