Thii Rak Alternative Terms Of Affection?

DeDanan

Thii Rak alternative Terms of Affection?

I am looking for Thai terms of affection. “Thii rak” seems over done!

Sorry I can't help restrain myself, and with apologies for the plagiarism to my good friend LG , but to quote the most infamous line ever posted on the Internet regarding Thai culture, a common way to express such sentiments is haa roi baat, although these days taking into consideration inflation, phan baat.

I think it is rather the fact that there aren't a lot of choices apart from tee rak. I never took the optional poetry course when I studied Thai though...

...asked my significant other and she racked her brain for answers, saying she really could not find any other alternatives.

Her next reflexion was that many Thai couples will give each other sweet-sounding nick names. She also said that many Thais never use such names in public, because of shyness and social faut-pax.

Using 'pii' (female to male) and 'nong' (male to female) is more common.

คู่รัก koo rak (sweetheart)

คู่ควง koo kuang not commonly used now

สุดที่รัก soot tee rahk (darling)

My favorite is ทูนหัว toon hua (beloved)

Edited by tywais

...she agreed with ทูนหัว (male to female) but said not many people use it. As for คู่รัก and คู่ควง, they are a bit different from 'tee rak' in that you cannot use them to call upon your loved one, but to speak ABOUT her.

You're right. คู่ means spouse, mate or partner. Just thought I would give him a spectrum to look at because not clear what context he would like to use it in.

Let's be certain we make clear which are address terms (used to speak *to* the person), versus reference terms (used to speak *about* the person). Some can be both, but some can't.

ที่รัก สุดที่รัก and ทูนหัว (or แม่ทูนหัว) are all address terms. They can also be reference terms, often in the possessive, unless already understood as such. ทูนหัวโทร.มาตาม...ต้องกลับบ้านแล้ว

คู่รัก คู่ควง and หวานใจ are reference terms.