Teaching Job, Visa, WP

helicondelta

I'm going to Bangkok next week and I was wondering about the prospects of finding a teaching job so that I can extend my stay beyond the 90 days granted by the tourist visa.

I hold a bachelor degree and have some teaching experience. Ideally, I'm looking for a part-time teaching job that would allow me to stay in the country for at least one year.

So how would you recommend that I go about finding a teaching job? Should I search online or visit the schools in person?

Also, assuming that I find a job, is it realistic to expect a long term visa (one year or more)?

Thanks in advance.

Your prospects are good, although your timing is not perfect. The big hiring season happens March= May. Your honours degree will entitle you to a work permit, and get the waiver needed from the teachers' council.

My advice- research and find the schools you want to go for, and then visit. Good schools will offer all necessary work permit and visa assistance.

Part time is not as easy as it used to be, as most decent schools now seem to require 8-4 style attendance, but still possible in terms of only attending contact hours.

[EDIT: I would recommend looking at English or Bilingual Programme schools.]

Edited by Slip

Where are you planning to live? I am not Bangkok based, so can't help with specific schools, but as I said look for bilingual/ English programme schools- the pay and conditions are (generally) better. You should be prepared to do a bit of leg work yourself though. If you get a job with a good school they will sort you a visa extension, but you will have to change your visa before that can happen, which means leaving the country.