Part Time Teaching?

migrant

Greetings all,

My Thai fiance, and I, are planning to retire to Thailand in a few years. She has land in the Cha Am area, but we are not sure if that is where we will end up.

I believe that when we retire, I will not have to work, but I enjoy work, as does my fiancee.

One of my thoughts, that I would like to get comments on, is part time teaching.

I am a certified public accountant, and have taught a couple years (while having a active practice) at the university level a few years ago. I have also taught, and private tutored, at various times in my life, and really enjoy it. Not loads of experience, but enough to know that it is a area of work I like.

Since I am in retirement, I probably do not want to work full time (again, I believe the money will be sufficient, and, if we choose to, visiting the US during tax season, I can make a pretty good amount working part time).

So I am wondering about part time teaching opportunities to keep busy, and add some income.

Since accounting, and business, is what I do, that would be my first thought. I also have no problem with getting a TEFL certificate and teaching english though. If it makes a difference, I'll be early 50's and I do clean up nice :o .

Again, we are not sure if we want to live where her land is, so part time teaching will also allow us to travel around to some of the areas we have not spent a lot of time in too see if we like that area better.

Just wondering thoughts from you folks.

Thanks!!

Make sure you are prepared for the classroom by taking a TEFL. You'll be much more confident and knowledgeable in front of students.

As you know, appearances are important. Language schools often want more mature teachers as their students are often more mature. Few Thai professionals feel comfortable studying with a mid-20 kid whose trousers are too short and he wears his tie like the scarlet pimpernel's neck scarf.

You'll do OK.

Ijustwannateach said: