Permit to teach music without degree

Chrisdoc

Hi. I was a private piano teacher in Australia putting students through the Australian Music Examination Board system. I have no official qualifications except a 10 week Certificate 4 in Training and Assessment but worked for years as a professional musician so do have a wide knowledge of my subject including a number of CD'S. I also have copies of my exam students' results including a number of distinctions and high distinctions. My Thai friend is a music teacher and goes to several different schools each week to hold music workshops and I am interested in doing the same. (I believe permits are usually site specific). I was talking to a teacher a while ago and he said there was a permit for teachers with specific skills such as myself. He said that many sports coaches are employed using it. Unfortunately he has left Thailand so I can't ask him again but I wondered if anyone knows about this.

Sent from my SM-J120G using Thailand Forum - Thaivisa mobile app

I taught music without a degree legally at several international schools near Pattaya. I was considered a private tutor and this worked. Over the last few years, budgets have tightened, lesson duration has shortened to allow more students per day, and foreign teachers are being forced out because Thai counterparts charge MUCH less. Advertise yourself as an experienced private tutor and the best of luck.

7 hours ago, Chrisdoc said:

I was talking to a teacher a while ago and he said there was a permit for teachers with specific skills such as myself.

Are you asking about a work permit or about a qualification to put forward when applying to certain schools?

43 minutes ago, quandow said:

Advertise yourself as an experienced private tutor and the best of luck.

Does that pave the way for receiving a work permit?