Google photos

Hello, I would to hear from photographs professional (or much more experience than myself) about Google photos. Is it good to use it? To store (and backup) all your photos, to edit....

I am doing a lot of photos with both smartphone, DSLR, mirrorless, gopro...firsly because I am travelling a lot but I also I like to take photos.

Having a gmail account, an android phone, I have a google drive on which I have been storing a lot of documents and it also automaticaly upload your photos. I am using backup and sync on my Mac and windows laptop. What I like with it is that you can access your photos from anywhere.

As the free option is limited to 5GB storage (I think), I subscribed to a paid version which give me 2TB for 3500 THB / year.

I used to subscribe to Adobe CC to use lightroom but I didn't use it much so I didn't renew the subscription. But now I am reconsidering.

Any comments? Good / Bad...?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

I'm not a pro but when I investigated Google Photos I realised that images can be compressed on upload. This may or may not decrease quality. I can't recall the details about size, compression rules and types etc. but it would be worth checking that if you ever intend to print your images. Video may also be compressed.

Do a bit of research and see if you are still happy with Google's compression rules. Upload and image then download it. Print a before and after shot at a photo place (they are cheap here) and see if you notice a difference.

You may find that a cloud backup that does not compress your images may be useful but that might take a bit more knowledge and research to see if it is suitable.

I shoot video, RAW and JPEG. I brought 15,000 plus photos back with me to mess with till I return in september.

I am using HDDs for RAWs and Backups, SSDs for editing, etc. I have used about 1TB of portable storage, so am about to get a dump drive to load everything in when I take off agian