Forum upgrade in progress! ×

Help needed :( Cylinder 1 & 2 not firing CB400SF

Hi there, 

Yesterday i started the bike, all fine, then while it was IDLE 2 cylinders went off (15sec after the start), so the bike is shaking like an old tracor, no power, can't run it.

Checked and pipes for cylinder 1 & 2 are dead cold, i checked / replaced the spark plugs, 1 and 2 were soak, i emptyied all the carbs and they all had gazoline....

I first thought that one ignition coil was dead, but after checking the service manual it turns out that tere's 2 ignition coils, 1 for cylinder 1 and 3, the other one for 2 and 4 so it can't be that.

What else could it be ? I'm starting to be really worried now, and i'm not a mechanical expert :(((

The model is CB400SF vtec 3 (NC39)

Thanks .....

I live in BKK, the bike has about 40K km, i had the carbs cleaned / sync and valve clearance checked about 3-4 months ago, could they have <deleted> something ? (well i already know the answer).

Would it have taken 4 months before smt went bad if they did something wrong !?

Edit : He checked the compression 4 months ago and said it was all good (dont have the numbers, but he was very "happy" about it).

Edit 2 : When you seat on the bike, from left to right, cylinders 1 and 2 are not working, and they're both controlled by a different ignition coil so ????

Edit 3 : Thanks for your messages BTW

Edited by Pepper9187

Just now, OneMoreFarang said:

You obviously have gasoline. Do you have a spark? Check it with spare spark plugs.

Did the cylinders die exactly at the same time or one after the other? Different symptoms = different problems.

Exact same time, 15sec after start, while it was IDLE, that's why i thought (and really REALLY hope) it's only a small electrical problem.

I'll swap the coils tomorrow and check the sparks, too much rain right now & too dark & too sad :(((

• Like 1

Start with the simple stuff
Spark first before you start tearing anything to bits