Cutting Down On Electricity Bills

chevykanteve

This letter-to-the-editor is in today's BKK Post. It makes me want to run out and buy some roof insulation. Seems like great advice for cutting costs in view of all these heat waves we're experiencing. Does anyone out there know how readily available the insulation is and how much it costs???

. ANDREAS PFEFFERL arcltd

''Heat-cutting windows'' (Postbag, April 24). Thank you, Sam Munich, for addressing a problem which is currently on everyone's lips due to global warming. I've been working in Thailand for over 10 years now, in the field of cooling systems, UPVC double glazing windows, polyurethane insulation foam and solar energy.

A good wall and roof insulation combined with double glazing windows will lower the energy needed to cool a room by as much as 80%, which in turn lessens the initial investment for the aircon system and, of course, running costs.

That the government intends to import less fossil fuels is a good idea, but the easiest technology at hand with the highest savings is simply not being implemented.

To install an energy-saving class-5 airconditioning unit in a standard-built house with the intention of saving energy, amounts to cooling while keeping doors and windows open.

Architects unfortunately are mainly interested in looks rather than saving energy and most are not well-informed about the possibilities of saving energy.

The government should implement a law allowing only a certain BTU cooling load to be installed per square metre.

Secondly, the government should offer and promote interested companies to insulate existing buildings. Payment is then made by a percentage of savings over a period of time secured by the government.

After or while these steps are taken, renewable energy has to be promoted via education and government incentives.....