Cameras in home

Captor

Hi, I am planning to install 3-4 cameras in home (in Bangkok west) in order to avoid burglary. To avoid and prevent and if happen anyway then it could help the polices work to find the perpetrator.

What should I think about? What brand is good? Cameras should work well in darkness as well. And it should be with storage of the videos online I think. How to solve that? Maybe there are packages out there (in Bangkok west) with cameras, installation and the cloud solution? Should be stored at least 1 week in the cloud. I have no experience about this at all so any info would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Edited by Captor
  • Like 1

Hikvision are a very good brand, but there are many others. 

You will have a control box that connects to a monitor for your viewing and playback, and will also connect to your WiFi. 

This gives you the capability to download an app from playstore or appstore, and watch, and playback, record and take screenshots onto you're mobile device. 

You should put a lot of thought into where you position the cameras in order to optimise your viewing, and your potential deterrent

Though most brands boast great pic quality, I find that the quality dramatically drops after dark, so good exterior lighting is also advised. 

I had good luck with VStarcams, but there are many choices.  The VStarcams didn't require a dedicated video recorder, but did take some knowledge to get them to record to the cloud in case the computers and cameras themselves were stolen.

I'd also point out that they won't deter burglary.  They may (or may not) make it easier to identify the culprits after the fact.  Especially useful if it's someone you already know.  And they can be programmed to let you know when someone's already in your home.    But I'd suggest motion sensing lights and perimeter alarms if you actually want burglars to move onto the next house BEFORE you incur a loss.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Captor said: