Aust Centrelink and subsequent AAT appeal process.

Good afternoon.

as an expat Aust staying (note, not residing) and the holder of the Extension of Stay, retirement visa, renewed yearly for the past three yrs here in Thailand and have decided to wait it out here for the duration of the COVID saga, with my Thai partner and have all of the required documents, (yellow book, id card, driver license, bank account - all simply to remain a lawful traveler and not have to do the continued 90 day departures etc) (and have been a traveller to other parts of SE Asia since my retirement in 2016 and   with lifestyle support back in Aust and a regular returnee there, (prior to the COVID virus) I submitted my aged pension application online and the very same day  Centrelink deemed it that I am not living in Australia on a permanent basis and refused the pension despite the  number of documents I submitted showing that I was a resident of Aust, had ties there, and was unable to return to Aust to sub,it my claim (even tho I can’t find anywhere in, legislation to say that I have to - policy might say otherwise)  I have submitted an appeal to the AAT.

my question: is there any expat currently here inThailand that  has dealt with either Centrelink or the AAT in regards to the appeal process and what documents etc did you submit to support your claim. 

I am aware of the  Centrelink legislation, and the AWLR clause but just wondering if there other angles I can pursue prior to the appeal hearing.

thanks in advance.

I went through all the hoops and appeals. The law requires that you are in Australia on the day you submit  your claim. Unless they have  relaxed the rules due to Covid and/or travel restrictions then you would have to wait until you can travel there,