World-weary...,need to get out of this charade

VinnieK

About 20 yrs ago I started having spiritual leanings.

Not particular to Buddhism but it has had a strong influence in my world view.

As the years drag on, the discomfort with the world intensifies.

In my late 50s now and really have to make decisions

The problem is that  I'm a free spirit and don't want to be pigeon-holed in this or another religion.

So, life in a wat will be very limiting for me.

I'm thinking to go it alone..

A shack in the countryside where I will live a monk-like existence.

I have been scouting for such a place for 2 years now but without success.

Any ideas from you guys?

Do some of you feel the same?

Thanks.

Edited by VinnieK

I can identify with your feelings, and although I'm not religious in any way, shape or form (any religion or Buddhism) I do have a measure of discomfort with what's happening in the world.

I am also a free spirit having worked in many places around the world, including the Sahara desert, Biafra and a frozen Norway, and preferring my own company as a rule.

To get to the point, about 10 years ago I decided I needed to get out of this place and find some peace of mind, so I went to Rarotonga (Cook Islands) and it is a small island, much like paradise, and I stayed in a friends bungalow, which was empty, and I had the place to myself, plus endless sandy beaches and crystal clear water, and just exploring the emptiness enabled me to clear my senses and see things differently.

I read a couple of books, which is something I hadn't done in years, and I just wandered around the place and it was very therapeutic, so that when I returned here, I saw things from a different perspective. Locking myself away on a "desert island" was great for me, and I have to admit that many times in the past I've often thought of getting a "shack in the countryside" and living off the land and fending for myself, but have never really done it.