Opening Bank Accounts In Cambodia

HI THERE, HAS ANY ONE HERE TRIED OPENING A BANK ACCOUNT IN CAMBODIA WITH ONLY A TOURIST VISA?IF U HAD, WHAT BANK DID U USE? DO THEY HAVE VISA CARD SERVICES? FINALLY, COULD U GIVE A LIST SOME OF THE FOREIGN BANKS IN CAMBODIA? THANKS TO U ALL.

I don't know about having only a tourist visa but it only costs $5 more to get a business visa and you can definitely open a bank account with that.

However Banks vary in their requirements. I've had an account at the Foreign Trade Bank of Cambodia (the commercial branch of the National Bank, and quite reliable) for 12 years, as far as I recall it did not require anything more than an application form and my passport to open.

More recently I opened an acocunt at ANZ because it has ATMs. That was a huge hassle: they require in addition to your passport a photo ID AND a rental agreement or proof of ongoing employment in Cambodia. I'm a self-employed Consultant and stay in either a hotel or servioces apartyment without long term lease. Despite a stack of contracts showing internittent employment in Cambodia going back over a decade, and a 99 year lease on property, I didn't fit their defined list of documents and got the account only after insisting on seeing the manager.

The other bank with ATMs is Canadia but I have known people to get counterfeit bills when making withdrawals so I'd avoid it.

If you don't have current employment in country or a lease, your best bet is Foreign Trade. If you have one of those, ANZ.

thanks buddy, but i must say that i'll stay there for just a short time and then probably go to Thailand. i don't want to carry alot od cash on me so i'd rather put it in a bank and cash it as at when i need it. also what's the requirement to get a business visa on arrival? is it the same as the tourist visa? are there any Thai banks in Cambodia?so i can open the a/c there and can also have access in Thailand. thanks for your response.

No Thai banks there.