Loss Of Green Card Due To Travel?

Hi all

Just curious but my wife & I did not know about this till we read it on another post.

We see now that once you have a green card if you leave for more than a few months ( to go back to visit in wifes country )

That you could have re-entry problems. Even though the law states more than a year absence they can refuse re-entry even if your gone say 6 months.

Is this correct?

Is this only a condition of a new green card (conditional) or is it the same for all permanent residents green card holders? Even the 10 year types?

We see they discuss forms N-470 if working outside USA but we just would like to spend part of the year in her home country too. Not for work.

I am a self employed contractor so am able to travel part of the year but we did not know about this possibility of losing her green card.

We also see the I-131 & hope this is not something that has to be filed each time we travel.

Any info on this matter would be appreciated.

Thank You

The basic rule is that you can lose your green card at any time if you abandon your intent to permanently reside in the US, no matter how long you've held it. Absence from the US, even if less than a year, can be one factor among others in assessing your intent.

"You may be found to have abandoned your permanent resident status if you:

* Move to another country intending to live there permanently.

* Remain outside of the US for more than one year without obtaining a reentry permit or returning resident visa.

However in determining whether your status has been abandoned any length of absence from the US may be considered, even if it is less than one year."

USCIS Site

This law firm site has a more detailed explanation of the ins-and-outs of the rule:

www.quanlaw.com

Edited by taxout

USCIS Site

This law firm site has a more detailed explanation of the ins-and-outs of the rule:

www.quanlaw.com

Thanks!

Yes I saw that on the USCIS site buit that other site is good too.