Am I Too Expensive ?

Like so many other farang, I want to move to Thailand in the near future. I am 54 years of age and can't afford to retire outright just yet. I did a TEFL course years ago - I could take the easy option and update my credentials and become an English teacher.

I want to stay in the Hospitality Industry. I have been managing hotels and motels in Australia for the past 8 years. I've been keeping my eyes and ears open and I have found a number of good Thai websites (in English) and a few Australian sites which list job vacancies in Thailand.

I have applied for a number of hotel management positions in Thailand (mostly in Bangkok) but so far without success. It seems what I am asking is 'too much, out of our budget.'

I am getting $5500 per month (that's AU dollars, about the same in $US). I am asking for $2000 a month (AUD or $US). Is this too much? Am I pricing myself out of the market? It's fairly easy to work out what Thai wages are, but does anybody have a link or suggestions as to expat wages?

Thanks, Peter

Most medium size hotels have lower-level Thai management who are probably paid 10-20k, assuming they are very well-skilled and experienced. And unfortunately age-ism is alive and well in Thai hiring practice, so that may be an issue in the higher-level positions, even assuming the right pay is available.

I'm afraid that with increasing hurdles to being a teacher here (legally or otherwise) the best you could probably hope for in the first year or so would be 25-30K a month at language schools, unless you have some kind of genuine educational qualification and could get into the public school game. Unfortunately, that's also pretty age-ist. Best of luck either way, and PM me or post here if there're any other questions re. the teaching business I can help with.

I have found a number of good Thai websites (in English) and a few Australian sites which list job vacancies in Thailand.

.'

Can I ask you which websites you were browsing?