The Gauntlet Thrown Down For Tex/mex Chili.

sceadugenga

A mate and I lunched at Don's Cafe at Chiang Rai today. I ordered the mixed Mexican plate, which I enjoyed and he, a hot curry addict, went for the Chili con carne.

After a few mouthfuls he declared himself seriously disappointed. Nowhere near hot enough.

I'm no expert on Tex Mex food so I suggested adding some of the excellent selection of chili sauces on the table. He poured in the the Haberno with no great enthusiasm.

It's not the same he moaned, it needs to be cooked into it.

So what's the general opinion? should basic chili be mild and doctored at the table?

Or should it arrive literally smoking?

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chili_con_carne doesn't say so, but chili was born in San Antonio in the 1700's, when Texas was part of Mexico and Spain. I heard that some spices came from from the Spanish settlers from the Canary Islands.

Chili con carne is the official state dish of Texas. I doubt there is an official recipe, and I doubt it must destroy tongues.

Chile con Carne (chilli for short) is one of those dishes where the recipe varies greatly from town to town, and from chef to chef. This why chile con carne cook-offs are so intense in competition. There are mild recipes to extremely hot. But my take is that really serious chile con carne aficionados like their chilli eye-watering and nose-running hot.

Some achieve this with any number of chiles ranging from cayenne to jalapenos (not my preference, but I do like cayenne chilies in my chile con carne) - dry chiles and/or fresh. In my opinion, habaneros are not really appropriate, but I've seen some people employ these as well just to make it so hot that its only edible on a dare with cash involved.