New Bike Advice - Kawasaki Er-6n/f

MattCinderey

Hey Guys,

I'm still a beginner when it comes to motorbikes. I've been driving a Honda CBR150R here on Samui for around 3 years now.

In my time here I've rented bigger and bigger bikes for long periods. I started with the Honda 250cc Hornet, progressed to a CB400 V-TEC (now that was fun, especially above 4,000rpm!) and recently I hired the Kawasaki ER-6N which was simply amazing. I wish the Kawasaki was 4-cyl as 4-cyl bikes sound amazing, still it was an amazing ride.

I live here permanently and want a new bike. I can get a Kawasaki from Suratthani on the never-never (credit) and want the bike to drive around the island, visa runs and also explore Thailand more (living for 3 years on this island, sometimes you need a break!)

For services, obviously I'll be taking the bike back and to from Suratthani - those roads are awesome (any road is awesome when you've been on samui so long!...)

Originally I was going to go with the Ninja 250, however my friend said for the island it's perfect but I'd get annoyed with lack of power when I was off the island...

After driving the 650cc, there's no way I could go back to a 250. So now the choice is the ER-6N or ER-6F. I've heard that the fairing on the 650R makes it nicer for longer journeys (less wind strain on the head/chest, etc) and I think it looks pretty cool too. I'm probably going to go for it.

I was just wondering from people who have driven both, what they think? I see Tony on here has gone from the ER-6N to the ER-6F. His bike looks awesome. I’ve been following his thread.

I'm also after advice about helmets, safety gear, etc. I admit that driving here on Samui, I have driven without a helmet and in flip-flops and have been (which I know is stupid) very very lucky after seeing so many deaths here.