Teaching Japanese In Thailand

bankei

Hi.

I am an Australian with a master's degree in Japanese (language). I am wondering if anyone would know of the chances of getting a Japanese language teaching job in Thailand, preferably in a university.

I am a native English speaker, but for some reason I would feel more comfortable teaching Japanese. It is probably the fact that I studied Japanese rather grew up learning it naturally and therefore know how to explain grammar etc which I couldn't do with English.

Thanks

Bankei

Hi.

I am an Australian with a master's degree in Japanese (language). I am wondering if anyone would know of the chances of getting a Japanese language teaching job in Thailand, preferably in a university.

I am a native English speaker, but for some reason I would feel more comfortable teaching Japanese. It is probably the fact that I studied Japanese rather grew up learning it naturally and therefore know how to explain grammar etc which I couldn't do with English.

Thanks

Bankei

In the Rajabhat Uni where my wife is working there is a Business English program that includes Japanese and English. The teacher is Japanese.

My guess is that similar programs would be up an running in other Universities, but as to wether the'll have a westerner instead of a japanese I dont know....

good luck

costas

Hi Bankei!

Instead of teaching at a university in Thailand, have you thought about teaching at

a language school in Japan? The pay is a higher in Japan as opposed to teaching in

Thailand. Furthermore, I think if you don't speak, read or write Thai... it would be difficult to teach at a univeristy.

Cheers!

Thanks guys

I have taught English in Japan briefly, but prefer the lifestyle in Thailand. I guess you are right, the hatai, about speaking Thai, as I would need to explain things. In the more advanced class I could get away with everything in Japanese though.