Bicycles - They'Re So Inexpensive And Fun

gaga2011

I started riding a bicycle (Carrefour 2000 baht) a few months ago and now I barely use my motorbike anymore. Contrary to popular opinion, I feel safer on my bicycle because many vehicles usually give me the right of way or a wide berth of space. Police pay no attention to cyclists so there are no rules of the road. You can ride along the beach road path too. Today in Big C, I see bicycles are only 770 baht.

I went to a bike shop today on Pattaya Klang/Soi 12 run by a Chinese-Thai family and they did some brake repairs (50 baht). They were friendly and efficient. Recommended.

post-130327-0-09749000-1307190378_thumb.

post-130327-0-08147900-1307190382_thumb.

post-130327-0-38450900-1307190385_thumb.

post-130327-0-81757600-1307190388_thumb.

post-130327-0-76557400-1307190392_thumb.

post-130327-0-61344000-1307190396_thumb.

Cycling is the way ahead.

I agree about the safety factor. My head is now as high if not higher than most of the huge 4x4's - I see a lot more around me and strangely I can get around town in about the same time as I did on the Honda Click. I am a lot fitter for it as well.

I would actually recommend spending a bit more on a good bike. The Tesco / Carrefoure mainland Chinese cheapies will not last the course.

There are 3 good bike shops on Threprasit Road and for the real enthusiast down Soi 7 off Theprasit you can get a Fixed Wheel road bike.

The owner is a young Thai lad with good English, his bikes look superb and start at 7,000 baht.

The only danger I have are the skankie Soi dogs....

I fully agree.

I sold my bike after a motorbike accident and bought a push bike.

Any advice what to do about those Soi dogs?

Unlike the girls, the soi dogs aren't impressed with those bratwursts you must keep in your pocket...:unsure:

I guess they don't like me because I never get chased (Soi dogs never. Ladyboys constantly...).