Rats Chewing Wiring

painterscabin

I've been building my house for two years now, got the wiring in last spring, dang rats chewed my wires. I had to pull and replace many and when everything was ok, Dang rats climb into the roofing structure and chewed wires there, one even ate a hole in my plastic wiring box to get into my double wall cavity. Yes, the family has poison much, now when I return next week I'll have wiring to pull and replace again. No windows or doors on yet, that come this year too, maybe then the fight will be over, but until then any of you have some tips, something to spray on the wires or some other solution. What really struck me was that there is lots of wire laying on the floor, but they never touch it, instead, climb near vertical to naw at wires exposed at the light switch box.

I've often wondered why rats chew on wiring. Does it taste good? Source of nutrition? Are they just teething?

If you are going to let the job sit unprotected for two years then I'm not sure there's much you can do. Why is it taking so long to seal up the house so that the rats can't get in?

For the wiring that will eventually be concealed (inside a ceiling or behind a stud wall), you could use steel-jacketed wire or run the wire through steel conduits.

Rats chewing wiring is a big problem in Thailand. While waiting for our house to be built we rented a 2 storey house in a nearby town. Every so often we would have a blackout. Complained to the landlord who put the blame on the electric suplier though no one else seemed affected. In the end when the power was off for some hours got a local 'electrician'to come and check the wiring. He showed us the portion of wiring that had been eaten through which was very badly burnt. Needless to say that this could have cost us our lives if a fire had started. Naturally I showed this to the landlord and gave him the bill for work done by the electrician.