Do I Need A Thai Driving License?

CecilEugene

I am really new to Thailand and CM. you hear so much conflicting stuff even from Thai officials that are suppose to know so because I don't want to run afoul of the law so I come to Thaivisa for help. I plan to rent a car from a Thai. This is a business for him. He comes recommended by a friend. Do I need a Thai driving license to drive a rental car? I am an American with just my state driving license. If yes is there a legal grace period until I can get it and still drive? He saids it come with insurance. I can check this when I sign the rental agreement of course. Is there a certain type of insurance I need and should be looking for him to have? Any help in matters that is related to this so I don't make a mistake and end up in Thai jail or paying huge fines would be appreciated.

All you need is your state driver license. If you live here 6 months or longer, you need to get a Thai driver license.

You do not need an International Driving Permit, sometimes erroneously referred to as an International Driver's License.

Edited by mesquite

You need an international driving license which is valid for visits of 90 days to the kingdom, or you can get a Thai driving license.

People may accept your foreign license for police stops and car rental, but it is not legal and could be challenged in the case of say an insurance claim.

• Like 1

You need an international driving license which is valid for visits of 90 days to the kingdom, or you can get a Thai driving license.

People may accept your foreign license for police stops and car rental, but it is not legal and could be challenged in the case of say an insurance claim.

Untrue - it is valid with insurance companies

• Like 1

A valid licence from your home country and a current International driver's licence are all you need.

If it's for driving cars only, this does not mean motor bikes/scooters.