The end of Buddy Broadband?

Litlos

I have been using Buddy for about 3 years, pretty good uptime and reasonable rates. I am away at work at the moment and today I get an email from the TGF saying BuddyBB is closing up from the end of the month and not to pay any more money to them. Having a quick look at the news there is nothing saying that Buddy is closing up shop, or is it just my condo? I tried having a look at the Buddy website and it appears that they are still taking money, so I have no idea what is actually going on.

Anyway assuming that Buddy will no longer be available for one reason or the other it looks like I have a choice of TOT or True, the condo is in lower Sukhumvit area of Bangkok. I tried looking at TOT and they do not have any package data in English, so one strike against TOT. True has a small amount of info from which I can work out that there is basic internet for about 699 baht and something about free TV, but the English page view is mostly Thai.

So any feedback on which is better between TOT and True, and any information on the free IPTV for either will be much appreciated.

Luckily I will be back in Thailand late next week and have a few days to sort it out first hand before the end of the month.

Cheers

• 2 weeks later...

Well back home and they are still saying Buddy closing up at the end of the month, interesting as they sent a reminder to pay by SMS.

Found out the condo has swapped to the true package for TV anyway, so no need to subscribe to the same programming. Have changed to True Docsis and hopefully installed tomorrow just as Buddy subscription runs out. I reality I foresee using 2/3g via phones over the weekend and possibly early next week. The condo manager is trying to hurry up and I suspect he gets a kickback from whoever so it may just happen, think positive, LOL.

Cheers

• 1 month later...