Lens Recommendations

Just after some recommendations on fast (low light) M mount lenses, 35 to 50mm range and adaptors to suit a Fuji XE1. Have been thinking of Zeiss and Voigtlander.

I realize these will have a focal length approximately 50 to 75 mm on the cropped sensor (I eventually want to get a FF camera).

The reason I ask is that “up until recently” I have never really been that happy with the XE1; colors are un-natural, saturated and bokeh looks smeared in close up (Fuji 18-55 lens).

Then last week I started playing with the XE1 with a Novoflex Nikon to Fuji adaptor and Nikon DX 35m f1.8 lens. Much to my surprise I really enjoyed the manual focus and setups,

but more importantly the Nikon lens is better than the Fuji lens (much more natural colors). The trouble with this setup I have no idea of the aperture, as the aperture ring on the

adaptor is not marked, plus the IQ falls off dramatically if I try to open up the aperture for shallow depth of field.

Hence why I am looking for good manual lenses. If any one has experience of or can recommend M mount lenses to suit, I would appreciate it.

As an example I have attached 2 photos. Both are at the same settings, WB on auto.

The first is the Nikon lens and adaptor. - The colors are true to life.

The second is the Fuji lens. - As you can see, a big difference.

P.S. The haze is the background is smoke, there are a few fires in the area.

post-123411-0-84810300-1384126123_thumb.

post-123411-0-96741100-1384126187_thumb.

I am a very inexperienced novice at photography, but I have purchased a DSLR camera. I was not aware that a lens could affect color. What do I need to watch for when I purchase a lens?

Sent from my iPad using Thaivisa Connect Thailand mobile app

Hi Sealbash

I am not that experienced with different makes of lenses, but do know they can have their own characteristics. I also have a Nikon D5100 (entry level DSLR), which I use for nature shots