2.5 million baht to invest while living in Chiang Mai. Ideas?

puukao

In America, it's rather difficult to run any kind of actual business with under 200k. Taking loans out is out of the question. My passion is cycling. I have an MBA , but I find that degree rather useless. Anyhow, I have lived in CM for about a year over two separate visits, and I don't see spending significant time away from the mountains.

I am sure there are much smarter people on TV than myself, and I'm curious what ideas you might have.

I would rather not have passive income, since I would like to play an active role in the business.

I have some programmers from Microsoft I could hire, but first I would like to define a solid business model. They are friends of mine.

*The margins in selling bike parts is pretty low; most money comes from service or bike fits. bike tours do seem like a good use of time promoting. coaching is ok, but makes more sense if you are bundling that with some software. anyhow...

thanks.

Of course, if TV wants to sell me 51% of the site. lol. i probably couldn't even get 5.1%.

You could open up a bar or restaurant as a lot of ex-pats do,

that have money and don't know what to do with it,you could

base it on a cycling theme ,that is if you did not have to work

hard to earn the money,as it will be easy come,easy gone !

regards Worgeordie

Lots of people sell bike parts and there are well established bike tour firms. How about learning Mandarin and offering bike tours to adventurous Chinese?... I'm sure there are some out there. Would need a work permit of course.

Stocks & shares...

Gold...

Platinum...

Btw, you probably couldn't even get 0.5% of this site. For starters -- and setting aside Adsense, hotel bookings, insurance, classifieds and the rest of it -- do you know how much it is to advertise and how many clients there are? whistling.gif

There are some niches in cycling sales and service that are sparse and/or poor in Thailand.