Autoexec.bat

SMS

Hi,

Im a total linux newbie.

I am experimenting something on Linux (CentOS 4.3 at the moment) this may evolve to a commercial application to me.

In the days of M$ DOS, if we add commands to the autoexec.bat file, those commands would run serially at startup. How to acheive this in Linux?

More specifically, what i want to do is Whenever any user other than root(and a handfull of other users) login VIA SSH, i want it to automatically run some command line stuff which the user has no way of omiting.

say for instance i want the user to use only applicationx during his SSH session.

now when he user connects via SSH, types in username and password, then "applicationx" automatically typed at the bash prompt and when the user is exits applicationx, "logout" command is issued.

There should be no way the user can access the bash prompt.

Now i have done some searching on the web, i figured its a steep learning curve, but i just need this basic functionality first.

Ok,

There's a few ways you could do that.

I'm not familiar with CentOS but it's based around RedHat I think?? So I'm assuming bash is your login shell ...

Create or edit a file called .bash_profile in your home directory.

Put any commands you want to execute at login there.

Here's an example

echo "Welcome, the time is "

date

If you want to do this system wide for all users edit /etc/profile.

Also check out the bash manual pages.

man bash

hi Simmo,

Thanks a lot for the help,

it worked perfectly.

The file .bash_profile was already there. i just typed in the command i want and then logout.

its doing exactly what i want.

However there is a problem with this approach.

As soon as i type my password and enter, if i press Ctrl+C the .bash_profile script quits and i get to the bash prompt.