Seeking good local optometrist and lawyer

JimHuaHin

Hi,

I am relatively new to Hua Hin and would welcome some local advice on (i) a good competent local optometrist for an annual eye check-up, and (ii) a good competent local lawyer for drafting a simple will.

I have read some of the older posts on local law firms, and have emailed (without getting any replies) and telephoned (without getting any response) a couple.

Thank you in advance.

There is a very good ophthalmologist called Dr. Pairait who has an office (and operating theater) in the block just south of the entrance to Market Village. Highly recommended.

I haven't used a Hua Hin lawyer directly, but when we sold out house the buyer used one with an office about a block south of the Tessabahn office who seemed to be competent.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

In general I would be cautious about using lawyers outside of Bangkok, unless you have a very solid recommendation from a reliable source. There are just too many stories around about issues ranging from incompetence to theft. The main problem is that much of the legal work in the big tourist towns is real estate related, and that seems to be where most problems arise. Of course there are problem lawyers in Bangkok as well, so you need to pick selectively.

You need to be careful with wills. If you have an estate in two jurisdictions (Thailand and abroad), and the beneficiaries are overseas, then you need proper advice. It's not a simple will, but its not that complicated either. Ideally you need two wills in both jurisdictions that inter-connect legally.

I can recommend a good lawyer in Bangkok who has handled conveyancing, wills and some litigation for me. A long time and very trusted friend who works and lives in Bangkok has sued him for many many years and recommended. He is competent, honest and responsive. E mail me if you want his details, although using my own advice ideally you should use someoene recommended by someone you know and trust.