Buying A Sailboat

worldwidediver

hello all. I'm thinking of buying a 28ft sailboat for my own use here in thailand now that the customs and exise taxes have been dumped. But I can't find out I would go about registering the thing or anything else about how one would import a boat. Local "experts (lawyers!!!)" have been next to useless. If I want an oil tanker, fine, personal sailboat, no clue! any help appreciated.

Thanks for that I've just emailed them. Is your boat registered in Thailand because I also heard that foreigners can't register boats here and you need to have a 70% thai company to do this. For commercial vessels I might understand this requirement, but for recreational craft this seems absurd and can't be right.

As usual, I'm going to mouth off about something I know nothing about :o . I worked as a Yacht Broker in California for several years and noticed that most lawyers knew nothing about Maritime Law and usually gave their clients bad, expensive advice. I'd second the recommendation to go to a Yacht Broker, they deal with title transfers all the time & will know the real scoop!

Commercial or recreation doesn't matter, its more to do with owning assets than intended use. I'm sure there are more knowledgeable people on this site than I that can enlighten you in that regard. We have just sold the boat, the guy that bought it was going to register it into his existing trading company but as it was only 51% Thai owned he was unable to do so, he bought a 70% Thai owned shelf company from his lawyer - the lawyer is very reputable but I'd check on the legalities of buying a shelf company as I think this was outlawed a while ago, although that might only apply to owning property.

Hope this helps

I am not sure about shelf companies, but he can certainly get his lawyer to setup a comapny for him, 51% thai owner (nominees) but he will be the MD and have the signing power.

Why is all this needed?

Surely a boat should be like a car?