How to start a Mutual Fund for absolute beginners.

They don't get a lot of walk ins, so be advised of that. You will be asked to fill out a bunch of forms, and need your passport and anything else you can think of. They may balk if you are from the US, so keep that in mind.

For each fund you choose, there will be a separate set of forms. They wont take your cash, you will have to go down to the Bangkok Bank and put the funds in that way. There is a form she will give you indicating to the bank teller the funds are going to aberdeen that indicates which fund the money is for. Se will give you a few of these forms, also available on their website. Your mutual fund will be connected to your bank account, whether it's bangkok bank or another. So you will need a bank account. I don't believe you can just walk in and hand them money.

There will be a set of investor risk forms that is a newer Thai regulation. Don't sweat the answers on these, just fill them out quickly and accurately as you can. They are for the Thai govt and totally useless imo, but they are required.

You should inquire about setting up their internet deposits. It will take a couple of weeks but worth it.

Edited by meand
  • Like 1

Thanks a lot.

If connected to my bank account I will probably connect it to my BAY 2.35%.

So I choose the fund?

How would I go about choosing one?

(I'm looking to put the money away and not see it again for 15 years or so, when it will be given to my child.)

Any simple recommendations for what fund to put it in?