Opportunities for software engineer in Thailand

Hi,

I'm interested in moving to Thailand next year and I am wondering what the job opportunities are like in the IT sector over there for farang. I have read various differing views on this and I'm a bit confused as to what is available over there.I currently work for a large company in Ireland but I have become disillusioned with daily life here and would love to relocate.

I have a degree and masters in Software Engineering and will have 2 and half years experience when I plan to leave. I have experience in many programming languages and working in an agile work environment.

What would my employment prospects be if I made the move?

Senior level 35k - 80k THB and also pretty rare (and years behind the curve in regard to process and toolset in most cases).

That's a good living here in relation to most other jobs done by foreigners not shipped here on an expat package, but pretty crap internationally for the skillset.

If that's enough for you, there's an interesting looking role here - http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/783998-backend-developers-nodejs-40000-80000-baht-for-infinity-levels-studio-game-studio/ additionally Agoda are looking for a couple, though I think they want someone very senior as mostly a Dev Manager.

You'd be better off financially working remotely for Western organisations, US average for Senior is 90 - 120k USD, British is around 50 - 65k GBP, and it's possible to get the same rates on a remote basis if you are good enough - certainly not as easy to land as onsite though.

weworkremotely.com and http://careers.stackoverflow.com/jobs?allowsremote=True are excellent for finding western rate paying full time remote roles.

Alternatively, there are jobs in Singapore and Hong Kong paying western rates. Not too far.