LPQ Luang Prabang, Vietienne Malaria Meds or not ?

chubby

LPQ Luang Prabang, Vietienne  Malaria  Meds or not ?

hello, I have a bottle of Malarone meds, which I could take during my 10 day trip up to Luang Prabang, which I should be in for 5-6 days, then  bus'ing it back to Vietienne for some "jungle" run. 

I suspect very few if any Thailand expats use any  anti malarials , but  I'm curious  for any feedback, since I already have the bottle,  maybe no harm using it , IIRC was fairly pricy in US too, and maybe it's shelf life is near expired ....

Not really planning on much outside of those areas, maybe just upriver and such  of  LPQ.  day trip 

Cover up, long trousers and sleeves, before dawn and approaching dusk, use repellent on exposed skin.

Malaria prophylactics can't keep up with emerging strains, so covering and repellent are best...........my doctor told me.

I've been doing that for 30+ years and so far, so good, traveling through most Asian countries.

1 hour ago, bark said:

Yes, trust this guy, he is a doctor.

Malaria is present in Laos. It's a fact.  What methods you use to protect yourself are up to you!  But to say you do not need it is not true.  It's a risk, but a small one.  Especially if only in the capital.

1 hour ago, craigt3365 said:

Malaria is present in Laos. It's a fact.  What methods you use to protect yourself are up to you!  But to say you do not need it is not true.  It's a risk, but a small one.  Especially if only in the capital.

I've got 60 Malarone tabs, I'll be in Luang Prabang and Vang Vieng probably 6 nights, so lets see that is 8 + 7  ,  15 tabs I would use.  

Perhaps, If I lived there, I'd get used to having to not use  Tabs,  but,  I don't see much of a downside in not using them, other than remembering to take them daily. 

I will never take  Larium / methloquine again, that has definite severe risks, I'm not thinking Malarone has much. 

I probably should just do homework, instead of posting .