Advice on best alternative to get Non O A

I would appreciate advice on the best option for me to get a Non O A Visa. I have researched the Forum but not found a clear answer to my current personal situation following the crackdown on Visa Exempt entries.

I am Australian. I have been working FIFO with Thailand as my base since 2008. I own an Apartment in Pattaya and since 2013 have spent between 2 and 4 weeks there or in Saraburi 3 to 8 times a year. This year due to a lousy Rota it was only twice for a total of 4 weeks until my current visit. (Between 2008 and 2013 I was travelling monthly for weekends  from within the region so have have literally dozens of Visa Exempt entries  but not all in this current Passport).
I have now decided to retire and will seek a 'Non Immigrant O A'; my question is what is recommended by the wise members such as Ubon Joe as the best way to go about it in my case?
I entered 30 day Visa Exempt on 8th November. I need to have Surgery (Bumrungrad) next week with a requisite few weeks recovery so plan to seek a 30 day extension in Saraburi Immigration. If I return to Australia at the end of that extension what is my easiest and best option to end up with  the O A when I return late January after my 800k bank seasoning period?

A) Apply for the O A at Thai Canberra Embassy?  Looking at their website it seems they seek more documentation than if I apply in Thailand, Police Clearance, notarised copies etc.  I cannot see the option to apply for an O type and then later convert it here as I have seen suggested in the Forum ( I am not legally married here)
B) Enter Visa Exempt and then apply for the Non O A in Saraburi or BKK, or
C) As I have numerous Visa Exempts over the 4 years, approx 20 since this Passport was issued in 2012 would it be better to get a SETV in Australia, enter on that and then seek the Non OA here or maybe exit and apply for a Non O in Savannakhet and then convert to O A  back here in Thailand, or