Jump to content

Panel set up to review election agency law


Recommended Posts

Panel set up to review election agency law

By Kasamaporn Chanwanpen
The Nation


THE NATIONAL Legislative Assembly (NLA) yesterday set up a joint law review committee to unravel issues in the controversial organic law governing the Election Commission (EC), the first of four organic laws essential for the upcoming election.


The committee will convene for the first time next Tuesday.


The joint committee was set up amid concerns that the new law which pass the NLA endordorsement, may be unconstitutional.


The Constitution has laid out that the committee be comprised of 11 members from the key concerned bodies: the NLA, the Constitution Drafting Commission (CDC), and the EC.


The NLA and drafters must each have five members on the joint panel, while the last seat is reserved for the head of the EC, according to the Constitution.


The joint committee has 15 days to review the organic law before presenting it – and any solutions – to the NLA.

In order to pass, the revised draft must win the support of more than a third of NLA members in the meeting.


It was unclear what the next procedure would be if the draft gets dropped. But key figures have said all organic laws must be completed within 240 days.

The members appointed yesterday to the panel to review the Election Commission law are:


For the NLA: Surachai Liengboonlertchai, Jate Siratharanont, Tuang Anthachai, Supawut Uttama and Somchai Sawangkan.


For the CDC: Meechai Ruchupan, Prapan Naigovit, Prakorn Nilprapan, Supachai Yaowabhrapas and Pattara Kampitak.


For the EC: Supachai Somcharoen.


Meanwhile, the NLA also passed the draft bill on the National Human Rights Commission on its first reading.


A law-vetting committee will now be set up to scrutinise the bill for 45 days before submitting any amendments to the NLA for deliberation and endorsement in its second and third readings.


Under the bill, the NHRC members would be totally “reset” and replaced by seven new commissioners, who will have seven years in office. 

However, the present members would continue in office until the new members enter the office.


Source: http://www.nationmultimedia.com/news/national/30319587


-- © Copyright The Nation 2017-07-01
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.

  • Create New...