Crackdown On "back-to-back" Tourist Visas

Crackdown on "back-to-back" tourist visas

Thai Immigration get brand new computer system

Question:

I've been doing habitual visa runs to Poi Pet for several months and it has come to my attention that this may be illegal, is there any truth to this?

For the record, I never overstay, dress smart and i'm polite. However I recently learnt that when doing this it is a requirement to have with you proof of a return ticket and sufficent funds totalling 20,000 to 30,000 baht and is this fact?

In addition could you please tell me what are the consequences for repeated visa runs and what is the meaning of deportation and being blacklisted and what would be the consequences for a foreigner wanting to re-enter should deportation occur? Link

Answer from Thai Immigration:

No, “visa-runs” are not directly illegal, but they are a violation of the intentions in Thai Law on Immigration.

The Law doesn’t say anything specific about it, but there is a regulation from 1997, which has never been enforced due to lack of resources, saying following (in plain English):

“You are only allowed 3 entries in a row on a Tourist Visa. After the third time you must leave the Kingdom and will not be allowed to return for 6 months”.

Since most foreign passports now are electronically readable, and the Royal Thai Police, under which the Royal Thai Immigration belongs, now got a nice, huge server set up in BK, things are going to change. All Immigration checkpoints are today online with HQ in BK, and within short time they will all get the equipment to electronically read passports. It has been tested at BK Airport for about one year, and we are now ready to implement it countrywide.

What will happen is following: