On Uk Fiancee Visa's .... Again!

Hi All,

I'm a new poster here although I have been following this forum for quite a few months. I've read quite a few sections which relate to this post, but I am after some updated information (2007).

Basically, about a year and a half ago I met my now Fiancee in Thailand. I travelled here 3 times and she travelled to Malta (an EU country and my place of nationality) to meet me there. In September we filed for a visitor visa to the UK where I have been a resident for 2 years and work as a marketing manager. Despite giving tons of paper work and evidence to show that I can support her etc, her visa was rejected because of insufficient evidence she will return to thailand. My girlfriend owns some property here and is in full time employment as a Marketing Officer.

Anyway, things moved on since, and last week I popped the question and she gladly accepted. Therefore, we now want to apply for a fiancee visa. Given that, she has an excellent educational background, a reputable job with a reputable company, owns property (but doesnt have much cash in a bank account), and that I have an above average income, plus my own business as well as live alone in a two bedroom rented house what else should we look out for or be prepared for. Dont fancy another rejection on some pathetic grounds :o

Thanks all for your help, and keep up this great forum. From now on I will become an active member :D

Trigger,

You are a national of an EEA country exercising a treaty right in the UK. These rights are automatically extended to your spouse, even if she is a citizen of a non-EEA country. You might, therefore, wish to consider getting married in Thailand and then applying for a family permit for your wife. Family permit applications are free and are judged by a different piece of legislation, so the qualifying conditions are less stringent than for a normal settlement visa.