Chiang Mai Immigration Office Extension - questions

I'll be going to CM Immigration this week to apply for a 30 day extension (tourist visa). A few questions if you don't mind (and apologies in advance as I've never done any kind of extension in Thailand, I live in Malaysia):

Is an appointment required?

I have an embassy letter but heard they're not requiring them, if this is the case should I use it or take the 30 days no letter option?

VISA photos - can I get these on-site?

Passport photocopies - also can I get these on-site?

Also heard that there'd be unlimited 30 day extensions for those that can't return home, is this confirmed?

Is there anything else I need?

To be clear I'm not looking to stay here indefinitely but only until Malaysia opens the borders with Thailand. This could obviously be quite some time but nobody knows.

A appointment is not mandatory.

As far as I know there is no place to get a photos or copies done near the immigration office there. Best to get them before going there.

A letter from you embassy would not be required if you have not applied for a 30 day extension of your tourist visa entry.

1 hour ago, SteezyP said:

Also heard that there'd be unlimited 30 day extensions for those that can't return home, is this confirmed?

Immigration has said that but it would only be possible if you had a letter from you embassy.

1 hour ago, SteezyP said:

To be clear I'm not looking to stay here indefinitely but only until Malaysia opens the borders with Thailand.

If you are Malaysiaan you can enter now.

That IATA info for entering Malaysia is confusing so it hard to say who can enter now.  Click Malaysia on the map here.

https://www.iatatravelcentre.com/international-travel-document-news/1580226297.htm

Thank you for the replies so far. Looks like I need to find somewhere that will do the photograph locally. (I have somewhere for photocopies/printing but haven't found anywhere for the photo yet). I'm in Chiang Pheuk area.