Biofiltration Systems In Aquaculture

i have noticed that there are more and more people posting on filters and biofilters.

i am no expert on the subject but over the years have spent much time researching and building my own systems for koi rearing and high density cartfish farming.

]Before constructing a biofilter it is very important to know and understand the principles involved,and the various processes and their effects. Here are a few links I found which might help.-and good luck, once you start getting interested in this subject you will spend many thousands of hours researching - and hopefully get to the point where you can build yourself a system that will suit your needs, without spending all your money.

The one thing that you will notice is the importance of high levels of oxygen in the system to make the process work, and even though each author will tend to push his favourite design, the common thread is oxygenation- the single most important step in the process of water purification using aerobic bacteria. Note that anaerobic bacteria do not perform the primary function and can be harmfull in your system

http://www.biofilters.com/webfilt.htm

http://www.biofilters.com/webfilt.htmhttp://www.madaboutkoi.com/cgi-bin/dcforum/dcboard.cgi?az=read_count&om=12234&forum=DCForumID9&viewmode=threaded

http://www.tampagov.net/dept_Wastewater/Advanced_Water_Treatment_Plant/Virtual_Tour/Post-Aeration.asp

hope this proves useful- great to see that there is more interest in high density rearing of fish and that the importance of using biofiltration to do it has been recognised

frikkie

i have noticed that there are more and more people posting on filters and biofilters.

i am no expert on the subject but over the years have spent much time researching and building my own systems for koi rearing and high density cartfish farming.